I want to switch to Ob/gyn from Derm

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

doc84

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi

I matched into dermatology last match season and will start in July 2011. I have always been battling whether to enter ob/gyn vs dermatology but chose dermatology. I like both but chose dermatology bc of family responsibilities. Now as an intern I miss the OR and the surgical experience of ob/gyn. What should I do? I am very confused.

Members don't see this ad.

well, it sounds like you might need some time to talk things through with good friends, family and mentors. going into derm to stay family oriented is a valid concern as general OB/GYNs in some practices take frequent in-house overnight call and have more unpredictable schedules. that being said, there are large groups that are employing OB/GYNs within a hospitalist model where you are required to work something like 16 shifts per month. additionally, pursuing advanced training in any of the subspecialties like reproductive endocrinology or maternal fetal medicine (additional 3 years) can free up a lot of personal time as these physicians generally do not take overnight call.

my opinion is that if being an OB/GYN is truly a personal dream, don't let things get in your way! with hard work and prioritization, you can make any job work with any situation. good luck :)

I highly recommend that you stay in Dermatology. As much as you like Ob/gyn, it's not worth the sacrifice of NOT spending precious time with your family (and children if you have them). Furthermore, you must consider your working environment, and while every residency program (regardless of specialty) has their bad apples, I'm almost CERTAIN that your dermatology attendings will be much more pleasant to work with than the "sleep deprived, short-fused" OB/GYN attendings.