Ideas for gaining experience

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

KCOM2005

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I just thought that I would share with others what I have done since I graduated from undergrad in order to gain medical experience. I should preface this by saying that I was planning on taking one year off, it turned out to be two (we all know how that goes).

Anyway, that first summer I took a 5 week class (most classes are 2 weeks) at a nursing home so that I could become a CNA. After the class I worked in the nursing home for a couple of months. This experience was an eye opener and I wouldn't trade it for anything (made me humble). Yet, it didn't take long to figure out why the national turnover rate for CNA's is 93% annually.

Shortly after I got my CNA certification I applied for a job at a hospital. For not knowing much about how the hospital works, I lucked out by getting a job on the cardiac step-down unit. I started as a CNA on the floor working 8 hour shifts. I soon figured out why people like 12 hour shifts and switched (working 3 days a week is ideal).