If you could re-do your post-residency career path, would you choose the same fellowship(s)?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ThatSerb

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
If you could re-do things with the knowledge you have now, would you pick the same fellowships you chose in the past? Why or why not?

Members don't see this ad.

I guess I would pick the same fellowship but it was a different era. I wouldn't do a fellowship in cytopathology today. Back a few decades ago, it wasn't a dying field.

Reactions: 1 user
I'd do dermpath again in a heartbeat. I might have preferred to do my dermpath fellowship somewhere else, but I love what I do every day and couldn't be much happier in my current job.

Members don't see this ad :)
for the older folks here, fellowships were not a common thing, particularly
in a non-academic pp setting (for perspective i was a 1977 grad from
med school). and then it was derm , heme, forensic and cyto. LOTS of
people were able to “grandfather” into boards. Just claim appropriate
experience, take and pass the test and, bingo. You could get a slew
of them. i knew folks with 3 and 4 boards beyond AP/CP. All of the chemistry and med micro folks i’ve known got in without a fellowship from the old days. Now they limit the number
of boards one can have.

I guess I would pick the same fellowship but it was a different era. I wouldn't do a fellowship in cytopathology today. Back a few decades ago, it wasn't a dying field.

Why is cytopathology a dying field?

I was told that you can learn it on the job and there's no need to do a cytopath fellowship.