If you didnt get into dental school this year...read this!!!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

exceedn

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I know many people are wondering and worrying about this upcoming school year, because they did not get into dental school. I have a message: "Do not give up, because you can get accepted with a little work!" I remember vividly how disappointed I was last year. I received only one interview, which was my state school. I was waitlisted there and never heard back from them. I understand the reason I didn't get accepted. As a first time applicant, my GPA (3.23), Science GPA (barely below 3.0), and DAT were low (18 AA, 19 PAT). I thought, as many SDN contributors do, the name of my institution I attended would mean something, with regards to my lower than average statistics.

I graduated in May 2009 and didn't know what my next step was. Do I attend a post-bacc program at UofP, Temple, etc... or do I just take additional classes at a local institution? I met with my advisor to make a plan. We decided it was best for me to take additional science classes and raise my GPA, retake DAT possibly, and additional shadowing. I took his advice and moved back home where I enrolled into a local state university and took a higher-level science class during the first month of the summer. I did really well in it and earned an A in the class. (I did think it was much easier than taking it at my undergrad institution, maybe because a summer class or a state school). During 2008-2009, I showed an ability to raise my GPA by taking additional science classes and taking a full load of 18 credit hours. While the fall semester was semi-decent, I truly showed improvement my final semester of college by earning all A's.