IHS Rotation - New Mexico

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pharmdcoming

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,
I just got a rotation with the IHS in New Mexico. Has anybody here been there before? Any advice on what to expect? bring?
Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

where in nm?

Members don't see this ad :)
Hey there, I was an IHS pharmacist in Gallup, NM. I'm sorry to say I've never heard of a site at San Fidel, which is weird b/c I've been to most of them. Anyhow, whatever you do- embrace this amazing opportunity! IHS is awesome and you will learn a lot from the pharmacists and the patients. Good luck, and have fun!

Hey there, I was an IHS pharmacist in Gallup, NM. I'm sorry to say I've never heard of a site at San Fidel, which is weird b/c I've been to most of them. Anyhow, whatever you do- embrace this amazing opportunity! IHS is awesome and you will learn a lot from the pharmacists and the patients. Good luck, and have fun!

Did a mini-rotation in Chinle AZ, not far from Gallup. It was awesome and I learned a ton.

Thanks for your reply...I think the location is in Acoma, New Mexico. I am very excited about the opportunity. What do you suggest I bring with me? I am only going to be there for a month. Thanks

something to do at night. Make sure you have a Netflix membership or something. It's pretty desolate.

I went to UNM but didn't do any IHS rotations. But I know that Acoma is aways from much of anything.

I did a rotation in San Fidel, NM a couple years ago, is Wil Darwin still the preceptor? I enjoyed it, stayed on reservation in the townhouses. It was nice to walk about 20 feet and be at the clinic. We did anticoag/diabetes management and general ambulatory care pharmacy stuff.