IJ central lines

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Are you trained and comfortable using landmarks for IJ CVC?

• Yes

Votes: 25 67.6%
  • No

Votes: 12 32.4%

• Total voters

proman

Moderator Emeritus
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Just wondering how many people feel comfortable doing IJs without US. I do about 40% of my lines without US. Most of the reason is that someone, as an anesthesiology resident, I have to place IJs during a case, when ultrasound is not an option (neither are other sites). It's a skill I have to have. How about you?

Members don't see this ad.

Just wondering how many people feel comfortable doing IJs without US. I do about 40% of my lines without US. Most of the reason is that someone, as an anesthesiology resident, I have to place IJs during a case, when ultrasound is not an option (neither are other sites). It's a skill I have to have. How about you?

40% of lines placed under the drapes while a case is underway seems like a very high percent. Are you extremely rushed to get cases underway, is it an institutional thing, do your surgeons stink :)meanie:) and get you in unexpected trouble or what?

Or do you mean that you don't have access to U/S in the OR (or something else, your post is a bit confusing)

Members don't see this ad :)
I see the confusion. I choose not to use US in ~40% of the time (mostly cardiac). It's something I've focused on because several cardiac attendings don't want us to use it. We have an US machine down in OB for lines (so no lack of machines). I've only done a couple of lines under the drapes.

Unfortunately we were required to use ultrasound to place IJ's during residency. I placed probably three IJ's without ultrasound during residency.