I'm new here and just needing some advice =)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

medhoney

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I was just wondering what my chances are. I think I am at this point have absolutely zero chances of getting into medical school, but I'm hoping for DO schools at least.

I graduated from a UC about 2 years ago with very horrible results. I was a new immigrant at that time, first in my family to attend college here, among other things. Needless to say, I grad with a 2.7 UGgpa with 2.0 sGPA. I do have volunteer experience, research experience, ton of leadership roles and community activities. I was luckily admitted to a Master's program (MPH) in a very prestigious health care school here in california and just graduated yesterday with a cumGPA of around 3.5~3.6, and a research paper published with my name. My MCAT score is not very good too, which is now at 20Q.

I understand I have to retake the MCAT and some undergrad classes. Should I take them in a cal state or a CC? It seems that I have a lot of work ahead of me. Also, if I will be retaking classes, should I consider applying for next year's cycle or just wait for another year and apply for 2011? Thank you so much for any input. :)

Members don't see this ad.