I'm Open to Constructive Criticism

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NeuroPA

PA-C
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
How am I looking?
Hello ladies and gentleman I am currently on my path to a hopeful DO application for the 2017 year. My BS is near completion and I need some help of where to spend my time next. As we speak i'm studying for my MCAT, I plan to log 300 hours of studying before taking it. I am also working as an EMT (4 years) and volunteering at an emergency department one day a week. My GPA is sitting at a 3.6 with the opportunity to raise to a 3.7 before I graduate. I am a 23 year old Mexican male living in Southern California (I want to get into Western).
Future?
I was looking into three one-year masters degree programs (Bio-Medical Masters) (Liberty University, University of Florida, and Northern Colorado) . Does this look strong on an application? Or is this a complete waste of time. I would possibly be able to raise my GPA to a 3.8 and the content in the masters degree is to help study for the MCAT too.
EC's
I have been told that EC's are important but some students overdue it. Would my ER volunteer position be sufficient or should I find another?
Raising GPA to cushion a possible poor MCAT score?

Thank you all in advanced for helping me pursue my dream career.

Members don't see this ad.

Good ECs, good GPA. I wouldn't suggest the masters program but maybe someone else could provide their input as well. You just need to focus on nailing the MCAT. Having said that, I had a low GPA and my year-long masters program helped my academic standing as well as my understanding of biology and critical thinking skills. But these can be fostered without a masters program.