Medical IMG from the UK hoping to apply for Internal Medicine - what steps should I take?

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheBoneDoctah

Volunteer Staff
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello lovely people. Apologies in advance if this is completely the wrong place to post this, but I was looking for some advice. Please feel free to point me in a different direction if these questions would be better suited elsewhere.

I am currently working as a Junior Doctor in the UK. I graduated in July 2019, and being a professional procrastinator, was very middle of the road during medical school. However I did not have any issues coasting through, and managed to get an oral presentation at an international conference, and a poster presentation along the way. I only really considered the possibility of moving to the US in the last couple of months of medical school, pretty much right in the middle of finals. I started to get a little more serious after graduation, but Alas, I was then forced into taking up a job as a professional Covidologist. Due to a combination of my lack of long term planning and the circumstances I mentioned, I have only just started building my application.

I am currently in the midst of revising for the STEP 1, which is proving extremely difficult (but manageable), alongside working full time as a Doctor. I appreciate this is going to be a long, difficult, lonely and expensive road for me, and am under no illusions that this will be easy. However I have decided to go for it, as I feel I would likely regret not at least attempting this in 10 years time.

I just had a couple of questions that I thought may be suited to this thread as I would like to apply for internal medicine, hopefully followed by Cardiology. That is far into the future, and I appreciate it will be extremely extremely difficult for an IMG.