IMG match requisites

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

franceschino

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I was wondering whether an IMG (I am a British graduate) could apply with only Step 1.

What are the requirements for an IMG application to a surgical program in the US?

Thank you very much.

F

Members don't see this ad.

It varies by program.

But please be aware that some programs will not accept applications from IMG/FMGs without the ECFMG certificate (which of course requires passing Step 2 CS?CK). You will have to contact the individual programs to see what their requirements are.

There is no exhaustive list but in general the more requirements you have completed by application time, the more favorable your chances in the match (regardless of the specialty).

Many thanks for your reply winged scapula. You have always been kind enough to share your knowldege.

I want to apply for a plastic/general surgery program. I know that it is very competitive but my questions are:
1. Can I apply anyway with only a Step 1 score?
2. If I don't get in first round, will it look bad on my resume if I reapply the year after (with Step 2 CK and CS)? Or faculties would not know about it?
3. Do I need Step 3?
4. Do you know anything about changes in USMLE structure? Will all steps be joined by 2013?

Thank you a lot for your help.

Members don't see this ad :)
I'll give WS a rest.

1. Essentially no. Sure, you can apply, but Plastics is ridiculously competitive, and GS is very competitive, so your chances of success would be slim. Note that you absolutely must pass Steps 1/2CK/2CS before the rank lists are due, or you are automatically withdrawn from the match.

2. Only the programs you applied to the first time will know, if they can remember. If they filtered your application out at the first pass because you didn't take Step 2, I doubt they would even notice.