Immunization training in school, do I need more as a pharmacist?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

chibipinkneko

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I was a UCSF student, and they certified us to immunize. I still have a copy of that certification. My CPR certification has expired, so to immunize I will need to get a certification on that. In California, you need to have the CPR license renewed every two years, at least that was my understanding. Here are my questions:

1. Do I need to get certified again to immunize if I was certified in school?

2. I need to get certified in CPR again for the immunization certification to be applicable. Should I do this before applying for a job or will they pay for this for me?

3. Should I mention my immunization training on my resume/CV? I volunteered for immunization projects, like Kaiser's. I gave flu shots to about 100 people that day. Should I mention that as well or does it not matter?

4. Is this sort of a non-issue for job applications now because flu season is almost over?

Once I'm working I wouldn't mind paying for a refresher course because it has been a while since I've actually immunized people, but I have a lot of medical bills and money is tight :S I did search for this, but didn't find anything exactly pertaining to my questions. . .

Members don't see this ad.

Here are your answers to the following (below). All of these answers will likely only apply if you are planning to work in a retail setting. I have worked in am care and inpt in addition to retail--RN's do the immunizing in these settings typically.