Importance of pubmed indexing in publication of small review articles vs publication in periodicals

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

theWUbear

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Quick question for the academics and general EM attendings. I'm a senior resident, writing up a couple brief articles on topics I find interesting/updates in EM. I planned on publishing them in my state ACEP chapter's magazine, and something like ACEP Now or EM Resident Magazine.

My goals are
  1. I enjoy the productivity
  2. Contributing to the organizations that I have benefitted from (EMRA, etc.)
  3. Participating in the expansion of the brand of my residency program through productivity
  4. Fourth and last - for personal benefit e.g. for the CV - with a future goal of transitioning into academic EM after a few years in the community

My research director says that I don't get 'bang for my buck' by spending effort writing things for non peer reviewed publications (magazines): for the amount of time it takes to write up the piece, it should be placed in a peer reviewed journal (director suggests Cureus, which is a 21st century 'publish everything' journal) so that it gets indexed in Pubmed. Cureus does not seem reputible, and I think I'd find happiness in spreading my pieces in different formats. To get into a more standard journal, I bet these pieces would need more work than what I'm putting in -they're not comprehensive literature reviews.

What are your thoughts on publishing in non-peer-review non-pubmed-indexed magazines that have higher readership and are supported by national EM organizations vs official publications in fringe journals?

Members don't see this ad.