jpn123

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Apr 10, 2002
Visit site
Status
Hi guys I am currently a first year dental student and thinking about going into optometry. I think dentistry is interesting but I an finding out it is not the profession for me. I have poor depth perception and I feel this is really hindering my performance. I would like to get your feed back.

rpames

Optometrist
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Apr 30, 2000
Oshkosh, WI
Visit site
Status
Optometrist
I can see how that could slow you down. If that is all that is holding you back, you may want to get an eye exam to measure your stereopsis. If that is the problem maybe you can get some VT. I think that VT could help...could someone correct me? But if you really think you would be happier in optometry, great. I know you will not be able to get advanced standing because of your first year course, so you will have to retake general anatomy and any other courses that overlap. I'm sure you will have an edge the first year.

Like always, make sure you shadow a few ODs before you jump into anything.

Good luck!

Loncifer

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Aug 19, 2004
Status
jpn123 said:
Hi guys I am currently a first year dental student and thinking about going into optometry. I think dentistry is interesting but I an finding out it is not the profession for me. I have poor depth perception and I feel this is really hindering my performance. I would like to get your feed back.
Just a thought, but if you end up poking around peoples eyes then depth perception will also be important. Ask to spend a few days with an optometrist and see how important you think it might be and if you'll be comfortable with the typical tasks.
Best of luck.

ohiostateboy

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Feb 23, 2005
Status