"Independent" CRNAs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

austintr

5000 candles in the wind
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
It has always been my impression that CRNAs are supervised pretty much everywhere in the US, but I recently did some looking around at the anesthesia staff from a hospital back home and found there is no anesthesiologist (or at least evidence of one) to be found.

I'm a 3rd year med student but very interested in anesthesia and I understand that my interests may change. I'm somewhat familiar with pass-thru legislation but the specific word of law in my home state is that "CRNAs may function independently as part of a physician led team" and my interpretation is that this means the surgeon is filling this role, even though they aren't actually monitoring the anesthesia per se.

Is this common in other states? I would like to go back home if I end up pursuing an anesthesia residency, but what the hell do I do with this? It seems unlikely that I would be able to find a job within an hour of home, which is fine but not ideal for me.

I can't find a shred of evidence that there is a physician on staff doing anesthesia, and the two groups in town consist solely of CRNAs.

I did clinical rotations for a previous career at this hospital and actually learned from these CRNAs, but they seem to have the market cornered down there. Is it likely that such a broad swath of my home state is a desolate wasteland for anesthesiologists? I don't see this changing much in the future, but I also have approximately zero experience in this arena.

Members don't see this ad.

Members don't see this ad :)
So, Dorothy, Kansas is an opt-out state. That means that CRNAs can work under the "supervision" of any physician or dentist. You should know this.

And here's your state low law:

Last edited by a moderator: