Inpatient pharmacist errors

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Reaction score
Hi,
I have been working as an inpatient pharmacist for 2 years now. Recently I have been making more errors than i am comfortable with (maybe averaging from 1 a week?) and i cant really wrap my head around why. I don't think any of my colleagues (hopefully) would call me a bad pharmacist. I work my A** off, and im a good team player and i pretty much have a good relationship with everyone. I have noticed something since i started here though that has pushed me hard enough to consider quitting. Unfortunately we have a few older/senior pharmacists that like to sit around and do nothing, so our younger, fresher people tend to carry the weight when covering in central pharmacy. We have staff that manipulate our management and basically get to be horrible at their job but still work here and have seniority. It also feels like some of these older pharmacists know the less you involve yourself in the less chance there is you will make an error or be in a situation you don't want to be in (which i honestly find horrible for patient care, to punt things off on younger less experienced counterparts). Like all things in inpatient if its a terrible order its probably stat or your our of stock. This is the same for technicians as we are union so we have a few bad eggs we just cant get rid of. Anyways, basically i feel like were entirely understaffed when we are full -3/4 census (which is 95% of the time during covid) and Im constantly juggling 50 things at once, which is unsafe. I am not the only colleague that has felt this way but unfortunately nothing changes. I imagine that is maybe why I'm making stupid mistakes (signing off on wrong meds, being in wrong pt charts, auto subbing incorrectly)? Do i need to slow down and maybe be more like my older counterparts (i have a really hard time doing this. I inherently match the pace that