Input on plan for applying this cycle. 29 y/o Navy veteran.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dreadnought17

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

Heads up, this is long- I have the shortened version bolded below. I am hoping to get some input on whether I can still feasibly apply this cycle and input on if my current plan is bad. I am a 29 year old veteran (got out in late 2016) with roughly 3000 hours of clinical/ operating room experience (as a surgical tech) and 200 hours non-clinical volunteering (various student organizations and nursing home volunteering at my local VA). I graduated this year with a biomedical science degree (all med school prereqs from a CC), cumulative gpa 3.49, sgpa 3.73 (I have 16 credits of Fs from 9 years ago which I really regret). Fortunately I do have an upward trend as all 4 year and CC classes after leaving the Navy have been A’s. I am currently scheduled to take the mcat august 14th. I am a Michigan resident and I would really like to stay in Michigan or be in a school within 10 hours of west Michigan.

My first concern is that my MCAT score will be too low to be competitive (1st AAMC practice test was 508), as I have been reading quite a few accounts on the forums of people testing high but experiencing a test day drop of 5 to 10 points with the new shorter version of the test. My second concern is that I will not have my letters of recommendation in time to apply, as I have only heard from one of the four people who have offered to write me a letter of recommendation.