Insights on breaking into consulting pharmacy?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pharmd009

5+ Year Member
2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently a PGY-1 resident in a community teaching hospital in the NJ/NY/PA area. I am considering consulting pharmacy as a career path. I know that consulting positions require extensive LTC experience and knowledge. My LTC/geriatrics experience consists of a 6 week consulting pharmacy rotation as a student and 5 week geriatrics rotation as a resident. I am currently week 2/5 in the geriatrics rotation in which I shadow a physician in a LTC facility once a week. During one of my visits to a facility, I was able to shadow a consultant pharmacist. I plan on trying to shadow and network more with the consultant pharmacists in the facilities (if I can catch them the day I'm there).

My current questions:
  • What are chances of breaking into the consulting pharmacy with experience as a resident in an inpatient setting? What steps can I take to make myself a better candidate?
  • I don't anticipate consulting pharmacy to be the first job I get once I finish residency. Would it be a disadvantage to focus on obtaining inpatient positions versus LTC staffing positions? I'm conflicted because LTC staffing positions don't typically require residency, but I literally just did one. So in a way, I'd like to apply for positions that require my extra training.
  • I would take BCGP to make myself more competitive, but it requires 2 years of practice and now >50% of time in practice in geriatrics. How would I get this experience unless I worked in a LTC facility?

Members don't see this ad.

I don't view consulting as being something difficult to break into personally. I think you would be more than fine coming out of a residency to get that kind of job. I also wouldn't see it being a problem trying to transition from an inpatient job to consulting.