Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Institutional Action Help!

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by owlmd, Aug 1, 2015.

1. owlmd

Pre-Medical
    I am a rising senior at a top-20 research university applying to medical schools for Fall 2016 admission.

MCAT: 33 GPA: 3.75

I have extensive research experience, went on a medical brigade to Honduras, volunteer at a hospital, hold several leadership/mentorship positions at my current university, and participate in a variety of extracurriculars.

I went to a state school my freshman year before transferring to my current university. During my freshman year, I was at a party. I didn't drink at the time (I was 18), but I think some one spiked my drink. Feeling really sick, I started walking back to my dorm on campus. On the way, I was stopped by university police and questioned. As someone who had never been drunk before, I was completely disoriented and gave false information. I ended up getting in trouble with the university (deferred suspension) but thankfully had no legal issues. I haven't gotten into any trouble since, and I feel terrible about the incident. Other than this blemish on my record, I feel like I am a good candidate.

I am planning on disclosing this information on AMCAS, but I'm worried that saying "my drink was spiked" sounds like making excuses. I'm hesitant to say I was drinking because I wasn't. Any suggestions on how to convey this information while sounding mature and responsible?

2. ZedsDed

ZedsDed You know what really grinds my gears?
    Gold Donor 2+ Year Member

Medical Student
    If your drink truly was spiked then you are a victim of a crime. Is there a reason you didn't report this to the proper authorities? Also, what do you mean you gave "false information?" A fake name or something?

3. OP
    OP
    owlmd