Institutional action question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Ivegotiaprobsbro

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I have a concern about institutional action that I would like some opinions on.

For context, I graduated a few years ago from a large, private, religious university. Freshman year at this school I had a girlfriend who I was intimate with which is against the school's honor policy. I came forward with my actions (due to my roommates threatening to tell on me), but I got suspended for a semester and was forced to withdrawal from all of my classes. This was in 2012

The school gave me a list of spiritual/religious requirements to regain entry to the school and I completed all of them. After getting back in, I received stellar grades, had great volunteer experience, got a private undergraduate research grant, and was an organic chemistry TA among many other things. I am now a graduate of this university. I also received an MCAT score of 521. GPA 3.66

My questions are
1.) Is this something that I should report to AMCAS if it was religious problem and if it does not show up on my transcript?
2.) If I do report this on my AMCAS will it completely screw me over with medical schools if It was ~6 years ago and I have had no problems since

Any helpful advice is appreciated. Thank you guys and good luck!

Sent from my iPhone using SDN mobile

Members don't see this ad.

It was an institutional action and a severe one in terms of consequences. AMCAS rules require you to report it and it would be both foolish and dishonest not to.

Will it hurt you? Ad Com members are unlikely to judge you for being intimate with your girlfriend. What they may question (and which you should be prepared to respond to) is why you selected this university if their policies went against your values, or conversely, why you acted the way you did if your values corresponded to the school's code of conduct.