Insurance for Instruments

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AndiB

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone, I am an incoming student to UMDNJ, and we received a letter asking if we would like to opt for insurance on our instruments....now, here's the thing...costs $75, and $100 deductible, for insrruments costing around $2000...also, there are specific conditions..it's in case they "mysteriously disappear" (this is NOT coverage for a broken instrument)

has anyone else been or is currently in this situation? should i pay?

thanks a bunch in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

We aren't offered insurance at school, but I can tell you that stuff "disappears" all the time. It's quite upsetting actually that there are so many dishonest students at the school. Is it $75 for the whole 4 years? or per year? Unless it's per month, I think it would definitely be worth it.

crazy_sherm said:
We aren't offered insurance at school, but I can tell you that stuff "disappears" all the time. It's quite upsetting actually that there are so many dishonest students at the school. Is it $75 for the whole 4 years? or per year? Unless it's per month, I think it would definitely be worth it.
Agree 100%. Many of your classmates in dental school will be thieves. Lower your expectations now and you might save yourself some money down the road.

Members don't see this ad :)
ToothMonkey said:
Agree 100%. Many of your classmates in dental school will be thieves. Lower your expectations now and you might save yourself some money down the road.

thanks for the advice...it's actually 75 per year with the $100 deductible...maybe i should consider getting this

I would definitely go for insurance; my Highspeed grew legs two weeks after buying it. I cannot understand how can our patient trust us if we can't even trust our colleagues..damn it sucks!!! :mad: