Interested in multiple fellowship fields

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MoGhazidoc1990

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am a final year med student. Have a great interest in Emergency medicine. I am just wondering that, if hopefully I get an EM residency and complete it, if I wanted to pursue to different fellowships one after the other if its possible.

I wanted to do a trauma and critical care fellowship, but also I am really interested in wilderness medicine and prehospital care.

Is there any restriction on whether or not you can do multiple fellowships?
If possible is it discouraged?
Does Wilderness medicine have a trauma component built into it?
I want to join the military after wards. Will they accept a civilian wilderness program?

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Critical care is 2 years and trains you to work in the icu. This is almost the exact opposite work environment of ems/prehospital... you have to ask yourself if you want to work in the icu or not.

Sent from my SM-G930V using SDN mobile

Members don't see this ad :)
Hello,

I am a final year med student. Have a great interest in Emergency medicine. I am just wondering that, if hopefully I get an EM residency and complete it, if I wanted to pursue to different fellowships one after the other if its possible.

I wanted to do a trauma and critical care fellowship, but also I am really interested in wilderness medicine and prehospital care.

I want to join the military after wards. Will they accept a civilian wilderness program?

Thanks