Intern hours/pay? ...anybody know how this works @CVS?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

O.State

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
So Im an incoming Y1 intern but my pharmacy manager tells me that I will only be working intern hours part of the time (i.e. intern pay). The remainder of the time I will essentially be working as a tech (i.e. tech pay).

Is that how it is with all cvs stores? all chain stores?

Members don't see this ad.

typically the district will have a set amount of intern hour which don't come from the store's payroll, the other tech hours come from his tech hour budget, but your pay rate should be the same (intern rate) for all hours worked. I would check with the RxSup or intern liaison if this isn't the case

Reactions: 1 user
thanks. that makes me feel a lot better. hopefully that is the case with the rate, dont really care whos budget hours they come from lol.

havent contacted the intern liason yet cause Im waiting on my intern license (and the start of class of course), should probably reach out soon though. Especially since I hear there is an intern application process even though Im already an employee :rolleyes: smh

Members don't see this ad :)
I don't see how they can pay you two different wages unless they demote you to a tech after you max your intern hours up.

Ask other interns, pharmacy supervisors love making up their own rules.

So Im an incoming Y1 intern but my pharmacy manager tells me that I will only be working intern hours part of the time (i.e. intern pay). The remainder of the time I will essentially be working as a tech (i.e. tech pay).

Is that how it is with all cvs stores? all chain stores?

There are only three possibilities:

• You misunderstood what he said
  • He is a *****
  • He is a crook