intern year taxes

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

GoPistons

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I wanted some help with taxes this year from interns that went through it last year.

I graduated May 2005
I started working July 2005
My taxable income for the year 2005 will be a measly 20k

What credits do I qualify for? Do I qualify for the lifetime learning credit from paying my tuition or the Retirement Savings Contribution since I maximized my Roth-IRA? Any other credits, tax breaks, deductions that I am unaware of at present?

Members don't see this ad.

Buy Turbotax man.. It goes through all this stuff. You should end up paying almost nothing in taxes.

Learning credit if you paid your spring tuition after Jan 1.

Do you own a home? If so, you have mortgage interest to deduct.

Moving expenses? Deduct. Spouse job search in your new location? Deduct.

I'm not an accountant, but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night.

Find a good accountant and ask them.

You wouldn't ask medical questions on an accountant message board would you? :D

Members don't see this ad :)
Save yourself the headache and get yourself an accountant

Ask around for some names. Find one who charges by the form (almost all of them do) and who will handle things over mail and the phone.

I mail my documents (W2, education credit stuff) to my guy. We speak on the phone for 10-15 minutes and that's that. He direct deposits the refunds.....cost about 100$ or so. Yeah you could do it yourself, but:
A) Turbo Tax software isn't free, and I think you need one for Federal and one for State.
B) The CPA will find more deductions than you ever could.....and do it right.