International student and internship at USA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

FringeScientist

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey there, I am a brazilian medical student (I have just started my first year, a couple of weeks ago) and I would like to do my internship and residency at U.S.

I don't want to waste any time, so can anybody give me tips as to how should I prepare myself? What kind of tests will I have to take, or what can I do to improve my curriculum and get a better shot...

Thank you for your help, guys o/

Members don't see this ad.

To work in the US as a resident physician (internship is simply the first year of residency), you must be ECFMG certified.

So your first step is to verify that your medical school is on the FAIMER list.

Then you need to consider doing some final year electives in the US to get US clinical experience and US letters of recommendation. Since you are a first year student, you have time - many foreign physicians discount the importance of the above. Therefore, check with your administration about what elective time is available during the final year and if you are allowed to come to the US for it (ie, do they provide you with malpractice insurance good in North America)?

Check out the ECFMG requirements - essentially to be certified you will be required to take the US licensing exams - the USMLEs. You will want to have these examinations done before the time comes to apply for residency in the US (usually the fall of your final year).

Finally, see the NRMP and ERAS for information about how the matching process works.

Read the International Forums for detailed information but the above should get you started.

My school is listed on IMED (fortunatelly!!), and if only final year electives count, I have time (here medical school lasts 6 years).

Thanks for the help!:)

Members don't see this ad :)