Internist Bashes EM doc on Huff Post

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BAM!

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
What do y'all think of this article? I hate to see doctors publicly bashing other doctors, especially in the press.

I'm A Doctor Who Almost Died Because My Own Doctors Refused To Do This 1 Basic Thing

My take:
-pt is likely annoying and difficult, which didn't help his situation
-EM doc likely had poor bedside manner, albeit maybe not as bad as pt says (one sided story)
-EM doc actually did the right thing and got the GI doc to see him in person in the ED
-GI doc didn't take him to the colo suite, and pt was OK with this?!
-pt is psych-splitting, hates the EM doc even though GI doc made the wrong choice
-likely there's more missing to the story --> pt tried to sue with 6 rejections from malpractice attorneys

Do you think if you're life threateningly hypovolemic with an underlying physiologic tachycardic response, would the beta blocker reduce your HR to 60? I don't.

Don't get a retiring GI doc to do your procedure on the day of his retirement!!

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 8 users
He was backseat doctoring from the time he was triaged.
I doubt one single event like that caused his CHF or ckd stage three. The interactions he described. He wanted to go from 0 to 100 in the first five minutes of the encounter. I think we all would’ve been putting the brakes on.

Reactions: 5 users
I think a type and screen and a repeat cbc perfectly reasonable management. Obviously, this doctor doesn’t know too much since he wanted to overly hemodilute himself with IV fluids in a G.I. bleed. Maybe he read that new study we missed about saline oxygenating tissues

Reactions: 11 users
Members don't see this ad :)