Quantcast

Internships?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Manders221

UMN c/o 2025
2+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.
Hello everyone!

I am a sophomore in undergrad, I just transferred to a new school after committing to the idea of finishing my prerequisites for vet school. Since transferring I've felt really motivated do well in my studies and I've been pursuing making myself a strong candidate for vet school through several avenues. One of the issues is that I feel I don't have enough veterinary experience. I have around 600 hours of work experience as a veterinary assistant at an animal shelter working primarily with dogs and cats but also some exotic species as well. I probably have around 30-40 hours shadowing veterinarians, all of which were small animal clinic veterinarians, and I have about 350 hours of animal experience working at a different shelter which I did all throughout high school. I have absolutely 0 experience with large animals and I've reached out to multiple veterinarians asking to shadow, all of which have either ignored me or turned me down. It's something I feel really frustrated and defeated about. I'm really stumped about how to get experience with large animals at this point - the only real idea I have is to speak with my animal science professor (who is a vet) and ask her if she has any connections or advice but other than that I have no further ideas.