Int'l student applying - advice pls

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bsnmed

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm an intl student from a top 5 US undergraduate institution applying to med school this year. My stats are average -> 3.5/31. I realize my chances of getting in are not so high, and I was wondering whether ppl had suggestions for safety schools. I'm asking this because I now realize I applied to too many top schools and I have already been rejected from 4 (no interview invites and my apps have been complete for approximately one month). Many "safety schools" also don't accept intl students. :( If I don't get in, I have made alternate plans though.

Members don't see this ad.

There is no such thing as a safety school, not even for an American with above average scores. Best of luck.

i applied last year and didnt get in.. im an intl from a top liberal arts college (not top 10 though) with stats similar to yours. i did have interviews though. im reapplying this year. my suggestion is to apply to schools in the state where u are going to college and apply to every mid tier school that accepts intl students. good luck this cycle..

Members don't see this ad :)
thanks for your response, jamaican doc. if you don't mind sharing, did you stay in the US when reapplying or did you go back home for a year? i'm thinking of working for a year in the US if i don't get in this cycle. i could also go back home and do volunteer work/find a job, but that might be difficult since my nation is in the midst of a civil war.

thanks for your response, jamaican doc. if you don't mind sharing, did you stay in the US when reapplying or did you go back home for a year? i'm thinking of working for a year in the US if i don't get in this cycle. i could also go back home and do volunteer work/find a job, but that might be difficult since my nation is in the midst of a civil war.