Is AnKing too much with p/f step 1?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

premedtriguy

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I just wanted to get some opinions, I am an incoming M1 student at a research-heavy program and am currently exploring all of the popular pre-made anki decks in preparation for beginning medical school. From what I have read online, AnKing is pretty much the most comprehensive deck available, but after reading many forums where people talk about how terrible the anki grind is, even with the smaller Zanki deck, I am hesitant to use such a detailed deck and commit the enormous time and effort to maturing 30,000 cards just to get a P on step 1. My school is also a true p/f, so there really is no incentive to go above and beyond in my preclinical studying anymore as far as I can tell. I have heard that step 2 knowledge builds on step 1, and that is the logic many people are using to justify still subjecting themselves to the AnKing grind, but wouldn't it be more efficient to just learn the step 1 material enough to do decently in your classes, then focus on dedicated step 2 study material? I am hoping to do general surgery in a specific area so that my significant other can pursue her PhD while I am in residency, so I was originally planning on grinding hard for step 1 to maximize my chances of matching there, but now I am really uncertain where to focus my effort. Any advice is greatly appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.