Is Dental school worth it anymore with the amount of debt?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Amalhalawa

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
The title says it all. Is Dentistry still worth it with 350-500k in loans?

Members don't see this ad.

350K maybe? I know some classmates who graduated with that much and are doing okay
500K? ...I'm not so sure tbh

Reactions: 1 user
I might be an outlier here, but I still think it's totally worth it. I graduated with 500k in loans in 2016, almost paid them all off after 5 years, but then went back for a residency to take out another 250k. I'd do it all over again in a heartbeat.
I guess it just depends on what the alternative is though. For me and the degree I had, I couldn't really do much else besides working in a lab or being a highschool teacher. The return on investment for dental school and residency will be far greater than if I had to go my alternative route.

Reactions: 7 users
Members don't see this ad :)
On a 500k loan at 6% you will pay around 4250 for 15 years. 7000 for mortgage. 1500 for insurance. 1000 for food and stuff. 500 for car.

I don’t think it would leave a ton of wiggle room.

Of course, one could cut things like mortgage and car, but what’s the point of being a doctor/dentist if you can’t enjoy some of the earnings?

Reactions: 3 users
With debt this high you must have a strict financial plan and adhere to it, just winging it and deciding what to do when you are graduated isn't an option for this generation

Reactions: 1 users
I might be an outlier here, but I still think it's totally worth it. I graduated with 500k in loans in 2016, almost paid them all off after 5 years, but then went back for a residency to take out another 250k. I'd do it all over again in a heartbeat.