Is intern only call ethical?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Greenman

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Does anyone else feel uncomfortable with the idea of taking night call without a resident? Obviously it is intimidating but I cannot help but feel this is also somewhat unethical. I personally would not send my parents to a hospital in July if I knew they were being taken care of someone overnight who was a MD for 2 weeks.

Id be especially interested to hear from interns at some of these programs. Are there mistakes they made that would not have occured with an R2 as a back up in house?

Members don't see this ad.

I was an intern in a program where I took "intern only call" for a few months out of the year, on subspecialty services like oncology and cardiology. Incidentally, this practice is ending in our program starting in July, but not because it was thought to be somehow dangerous or unethical, but rather to improve continuity of care and educational value.

Before I started internship I found the thought of "admitting alone" to be incredibly intimidating and frightening, but after a few weeks on the wards I realized it was not that big of a deal. I also quickly realized that I had plenty of backup if needed, in the form of a "night teaching resident" who would check in with the on call interns each night, and of course the MICU or CCU residents and fellows, and even moonlighting fellows at times. I also felt that it was incredibly valuable to work more independently like this, as it forced me to think critically about patient care issues instead of just reflexively asking a resident what to do.

Are there programs where interns take call alone without ANY sort of backup???