1. What do you find most helpful? Give us your feedback on the 2019 SDN Member Survey to help further the SDN mission (and win prizes!)
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice

Is it really important?

Discussion in 'Physician Scientists' started by Neurosh, Mar 8, 2007.

1. Neurosh

Pre-Medical
    Hi~
    I want to be a physician scientist in the future.

I am a freshman in Purdue University.
    And I have a question.
    Is the prestige of the institution of premed years significantly important to get into med school?

My situation is as follows.
    I am a US citizen but I lived in another country for 16years.
    So I am not pretty goot at communicating in English right now.

After graduating high school and finishing one semester of a college in that country, I decided to come here, USA.

When I applied for universities, I considered the possibility of getting into that college at spring semester(because I wanted to start as soon as possible) and financial problems.

And I thought that I could spend some years improving my English and then go to more prestigious university.

As a result, I entered Purdue University.

Actually, prestige is not the most important thing to me as considering institutions. But, you know, every human being has achievement motivation. And I have more compared with average people. So, I want to spend my own potential as much as possible.
    Therefore, I want to go at least good med school which can motivate and incite me academically.

Inversly, that implies that my current college doesn't do that..
    I can barely meet studious people like myself and the size of class is too big for me. And I can get good grades though I don't study much and deeply.(I want to study deep and hard)

I am a kind of people who likes challenges. That's why, I guess, I feel a little helplessness and can't apply myself these days.

And that's why I am really desperate to the former question.
    In case I can't get into med school, I can become miserable.