Is it worth doing a Post-bacc?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Gaintrain14

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated with a 3.42 cum. GPA, and 3.3 science GPA. I was a college athlete, had multiple club leadership positions and was heavily involved in other extracurricular activities. I have about 100 hours of physician shadowing, and 180 hours of clinical volunteer experience. I scored a 499 on my MCAT, then took a prep course and actually scored worse (498). After applying to ~20 schools (DO and MD) for two cycles I have yet to receive an interview invite, and am currently working as an EMT. Should I go for a post-bacc, or just try to retake my MCAT and apply again next cycle? Should I consider applying for PA instead?

Members don't see this ad.

How many DO schools did you apply to each year? There was no point in applying to any MD schools so let's just discount those.

What is going wrong on the MCAT?

How many full length practice exams did you do before your first and second attempts, from which company (EK, NS, etc), and what were your scores?

How many DO schools did you apply to each year? There was no point in applying to any MD schools so let's just discount those.

What is going wrong on the MCAT?

How many full length practice exams did you do before your first and second attempts, from which company (EK, NS, etc), and what were your scores?