Is low performance on the MCAT a hopeless cause?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

phil413ru

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
:confused:

I am a pre-med student in her senior year. I took the MCAT in April and recieved a 24. I have a relatively high GPA (3.88-3.9 depending on tranfer GPA). However, I have been told that if there is a discrepency btw GPA and MCAT scores, then the schools go with the MCAT. I am a horrible standardized test taker! (Same mediocre scores on the ACT four years ago). I am very involved in Army ROTC, and in order to not be branced into Chemical (warfare etc) I have to get into medical school to really be considered for Army Ed. Delay (eventually Medical Corps). I had the opportunity to work in a 3-week Army Medical internship this summer. I know I want to be a doctor, but one of the officers said that many people don't get in the first year and with my MCAT scores it was better off that I do my time in Army (and whatever branch) then consider Med school. I fervently desire to be a military physician, but I don't want to continue to waste money for what I feel like many tell me is a hopeless cause. All other Pre-Meds at my school did really well on the MCAT, and aren't too encouraging. Neither is the faculty of pre-med committee. Thus, many don't think I can get in. Should I just give up my dream and take whatever branch the army gives me?:(

Members don't see this ad.

If you are applying to osteopathy schools you have damn good chances of getting accepted with that score and gpa. Infact your score is either avg or above avg for most osteopathy medical schools . So go for it. Dont listen to anybody. some people are there just to pull you back when you are just so close to succeed and fulfilling your dreams.
Goodluck:)

Members don't see this ad :)