Is PM&R right for me?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Striker254

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a 3rd year medical student currently stuck between a few specialties and looking for any input from those in PM&R currently. I'm considering Family Medicine and PM&R primarily. I love the variety of patient ages ,problems, continuity of FM, but love musculoskeletal/sports med/procedures associated w/ PMR. More of an outpatient guy than a surgery/inpatient guy. Any advice? Lifestyle (time and pay) is an important factor to me as well obviously...

Also on the backburner due to lack of exposure, but potential interest, is anesthesia and rads. Kind of all over I know... haha.

Members don't see this ad.

Have you done a rotation in PM&R yet? If not, try to set one up at a place where you can get a lot of exposure like an academic center with a residency program if possible.

I'm a 3rd year medical student currently stuck between a few specialties and looking for any input from those in PM&R currently. I'm considering Family Medicine and PM&R primarily. I love the variety of patient ages ,problems, continuity of FM, but love musculoskeletal/sports med/procedures associated w/ PMR. More of an outpatient guy than a surgery/inpatient guy. Any advice? Lifestyle (time and pay) is an important factor to me as well obviously...

Also on the backburner due to lack of exposure, but potential interest, is anesthesia and rads. Kind of all over I know... haha.

For salary, Radiology > Anesthesia > PM&R > Family Practice

For lifestyle it would depend on your contract. Anesthesia would most likely have to take call. On the otherhand, by doing call you probably can make more money.

For variety of patients, Family Practice > PM&R

For minimal patient contact, Radiology (Diagnostic) > Anesthesia (non-Pain)

For procedures, it depends of the practice

Members don't see this ad :)