is residency REALLY that bad???

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

T.S.garp

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
i'm an undergrad...want to go into onc....anyway all i hear about these days is the horrors of residency...so is it really honestly that bad? or is it tough, but people tend to blow it out of proportion???

Members don't see this ad.

T.S.garp said:
i'm an undergrad...want to go into onc....anyway all i hear about these days is the horrors of residency...so is it really honestly that bad? or is it tough, but people tend to blow it out of proportion???

Nope, it makes college look hard. Seriously, read the post a few topics down about "if you could do it over again etc" That might help you out. You sure you dont want to do pediatric cardiothoracic surgery?

thanks. i read that thread already. i just wasn't sure wether the responses were totally honest...it seems like people tend to go overboard when they complain on message boards. i was just hoping to get a response minus the bull...but anyway thanks again for responding and please everyone else put in your two cents!

Yes.
It REALLY is that bad.
Intern year nearly killed me.
I still enjoy what I do, however.
Miraculously.