is taking a remedial class looked down upon>?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rctriplefresh5

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
due to a poor non existent high school education, i was placed into algebra 1 my first semester of college. i managed to get an A in that, and took algebra 2 in the summer a few weeks after to get an A there. i took trig this semester (semester ends in 1 week) and will have a b due to slacking. and i plan to take pre calculus in january, and calculus over the summer.
my question is this. do med schools care that i had to start out in a slower class, or do they see this as an improvement. i graduated highschool taking no more than algebra 1. so i would consider it an accomplishment if i got through calculus in less than two years.*first semester college was sep 2008 but i took my algebra 1 class jan 2009) i plan on finishing. my calc course in jul 2010. also for my first semester i actually tested into a class lower than alg 1 but i got the counselor to waive that class and i started in algebra 1 do medical schools look at the placement tests?

Members don't see this ad.

Doesnt matter you started off at a lower math level. Hell, i wouldnt even call it "remedial" really. The only thing u need to make sure ur careful about is to eventually take some challenging upper div sci courses.

1) do med schools care that i had to start out in a slower class, or do they see this as an improvement.

2) do medical schools look at the placement tests?
1) No. They only care that you completed the prerequisites and did well. It doesn't matter that you needed more prep time before you took them.

2) They do not look at placement tests. You took a gamble, but it paid off.

Members don't see this ad :)