is there any way to change residency programs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

docu

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
i hate the fact my chances are next to nothing of getting into residency. isn't there anything that can be done for people like me who have already done some residency but didn't get to finish? why is it the end of the road? that is so unfair. can residency programs change? i am not a bad doctor and i am licensed and seeing patients as a visiting doctor, patients like me, but i want to be able to finish residency. is that so wrong? im sick of my life being such an epic fail, while everyone else has success. i dont know what i did to deserve any of this. i know there are people in my shoes. why does residency have to be such a dead end street like that? a lot of good doctors are being thrown away.

what can be done to change residency programs and make them accept residents from a past program? can there be a mediation program into place for those docs that get kicked out of residency? i think something really has to change. it is not just me it is thousands of residents per year that this happens to. it is so sad. whats even more ridiculous is people try to make it taboo to talk about but i think it is time to talk about it.

also, maybe in the least, congress could allow GP's to work in hospitals, because they let less qualified NPs and PAs work in hospitals. i see that as very unfair. maybe being a GP could be more palatable if they had more opportunity just like an NP or PA. Will we have to tell this to congress or can we just have hospitals start doing so?

p.s. no personal attacks please. im talking about an issue that happens to many people so talk about it in general.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: