Status
Not open for further replies.

GoSpursGo

SDN Chief Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
This is gonna sound really dumb but here we go...

Is it a hippa violation to go into a family member's chart with their permission? I thought with permission it would be fine, but I later looked this up and found out it wasn't. What should I do in this case? Im a med student.
Yes, it is 100% a HIPPA violation.

Probably do nothing and hope you don't get caught. If you do get caught, then apologize profusely.

Members don't see this ad.

Thank you for your response. I was just trying to get a better handle on how epic works and ended up opening a telephone encounter or something that I cannot delete (being clumsy as hell trying to navigate the environment). Should I still just ignore it as it was a one time mistake?
Yes. If someone ever approaches you about it, just say that you made a mistake as you were learning EPIC and immediately closed the chart.

The answer to the OP's question is a bit more nuanced.

If you actually have permission from the patient to go into their chart, then it's not a HIPAA violation. However, that permission should be in writing, and should be filed in the medical record. Usually, the best way to do this (and especially in Epic) is in the MyChart portal -- you apply for permission to access someone else's MyChart, and once all the paperwork is complete you'll be able to see all the notes, labs, etc. Almost everything is in the portal.

Just having verbal permission is not good enough.