Is this institutional infraction going to ruin my chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kvrtikapa

Reaction score
Hello, I am a freshman on the premed track. Our school requires us to test at least twice a week, but living in the dorms, I had to test every other day. I missed two tests (4 days in total) because I was sick and had two exams on the other day. I didn’t leave my dorm and wasn’t contagious during this time because I had COVID antibodies. My school gave me a conduct probation (basically a suspension) until my junior year for this. Obviously, I seriously regret not testing and understand it was completely irresponsible for me to miss those tests. I’m really worried this mistake will cause me to not be accepted into medical school. Any advice for what I can do?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
  • Wow
Reactions: 1 users
Hello, I am a freshman at the University of Illinois on the premed track. Our school requires us to test at least twice a week, but living in the dorms, I had to test every other day. I missed two tests (4 days in total) because I was sick and had two exams on the other day. I didn’t leave my dorm and wasn’t contagious during this time because I had COVID antibodies. My school gave me a conduct probation (basically a suspension) until my junior year for this. Obviously, I seriously regret not testing and understand it was completely irresponsible for me to miss those tests. I’m really worried this mistake will cause me to not be accepted into medical school. Any advice for what I can do?
A 2 year conduct probation for 4 days of testing non-compliance? This pandemic is no joke, and you absolutely should have gotten tested, but that's quite extreme.

Reactions: 6 users
Yes, this will look bad and may need several years to “recover” from this. Appeal (which will likely won’t work). If you think their actions were not justifiable and have the money, sue them.