Issues with Shadowing

jessmok

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently a sophomore in high school (14). I recently broke my fibula and tore a ligament, so I've been seeing a podiatrist at Kaiser. I want to ask him for a shadowing opportunity at my next appointment, so I tried to get some administrative information on this matter. I called up volunteer services, but they told me that they didn't have a shadowing program. I don't think they understood that I had a specific doctor that I wanted to shadow. I also called up the Podiatry Department, and the receptionist picked up. She consulted with someone after I inquired about shadowing, and she simply told me to go through the volunteer department or something along those lines. I don't think she realized that I knew the podiatrist either. Being a big hospital, I know there's a lot more administrative stuff, such as HIPAA, to go through. After all these "no's" should I still ask my podiatrist? I heard that it helps ask to ask the podiatrist directly, especially because they can help me through a lot of the administrative stuff. However, I feel bad putting my podiatrist through so much administrative trouble. I mean, asking to shadow alone is a HUGE favor to ask for. I'm looking to shadow in the long term (1-2 hours weekly or biweekly). Am I asking for too much from my podiatrist? Thanks for all the help! It really means a lot!

Members don't see this ad.

In big bureaucratic institutions, it typically takes someone on the inside pushing to get the ball rolling to have a HS or college student credentialed to shadow. I'm not going to lie. It is a pain in the butt to set these things up from our side of things. It typically costs us money and effort to give you the opportunity. This is why people are generally reluctant to be more helpful. Your best bet is to ask your podiatrist directly. Be polite, but persistent unless he flat out tells you no.