It's About That Time

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MD Hopeful

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I have wanted to become a physician since I was in junior high school and now with a quarter left in college, I thought I would check out how I fair so that I apply wisely. I'm nervous about my chances because it seems everyone on this forum is some genius of some sort with crazy GPA's and MCAT scores. So, I was hoping to get some advice on my stats and extracurriculars (I know I lack leadership so I'm searching for some positions now) and what schools I should apply to. I'm a California resident (attending a UC school), so I'm hoping my resume is strong enough to be considered by any California school - I know they are extremely difficult to get into. If not, what out of state schools should I consider? I wanted to mention that I struggled my freshman year and partially some of my sophomore year, but took the courses over that I did poorly in, getting A's (I calculated both grades into GPA). Thank you for all of your suggestions and comments!

Cumulative GPA: 3.7 BCPM: 3.71 Non-Science: 3.68
MCAT: 35 (12/11/12)
Microbiology and Immunology B.S.
Political Science B.S.

Extracurriculars:
  • NCAA Athlete: Division I (scholarship)
  • EMT-I: Certified in California (NREMT), BLS and ACLS certified (working as one for a little over a year ~ 16-20 hours a week during class; ~30-40 hours in the summer)
  • Volunteer: at a Trauma Hospital; ER volunteer ~3 hours a week for a year and a half
  • Shadowing: three M.D.s - a pediatric surgeon, cardiologist, and family physician for roughly 20-30 hours each
  • Non-clinical Volunteer: Habitat for Humanity (once a month for two years; each day is about 8 hours)
  • Research: two years on stem cells and neurogenesis; poster and publication