JD to MD????????????

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

juliagulia930

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Okay...ultimately I am going to do what I want to do, but I am curious about opinions....

I am 35--I am a lawyer and an COMPLETELY unhappy--no I am miserable. While I know that the law and medicine are very different, I also know that I have always (and can be again) a good student. But, I need a dose of reality--is this just a pipe dream? These are some of my major concerns---I already have debt--can I afford to do'this??? I probably should mention that I have been a lawyer for four years and definitely do not make a king's ransom, so I have still considerably in debt. However, I have this hole inside--I am unfulfilled because I do not feel I am making a difference. I believe I can make a difference in medicine.

Okay..let me have it......pros, cons, etc.

I probably should mention I am single, no kids..so I don't have family commitments.....

I need to know how I can do this....my undergrad is a BA, not a BS, so at this point, what do I even need to do??? Do I need to take classes at a university, or can I fulfull requirements at a community college??

I need help here. And please be nice (at least a little.....)

Thank you!!!!

Members don't see this ad.

Look on SDN's post-bac forum. There are formal post-bac programs that get get you through the undergraduate pre-requisites in about a year. Then you need to take the MCATs, do very very well on the MCATs, and spend a year working as a lawyer while your application gets processed. So at the earliest you can start two years from this fall, at that's assuming you really hustle to meet the application deadlines for this years batch of post-bac programs (you have less than a month for the programs you can still even apply to).