Job advice needed!!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ander120

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I need some opinions/advice. I'm a new grad looking for a job. I don't have a very specific area I want to work in but I enjoyed my inpatient/acute clinicals much more than my outpatient ones so I'm leaning towards some kind of inpatient. I'm having a difficult time finding a full-time inpatient position. I turned down one outpatient position that I was offered early on through my last clinical to try and pursue inpatient. I've applied to about 5 hospitals for acute positions over a month ago and haven't heard back from any. I also turned down a SNF position that I was offered because I would be the only physical therapist at the location and as a new grad that's not something I want.

My last clinical also offered me a PRN job in acute/rehab which I've started. Just yesterday they offered me a full time inpatient position that would be primarily rehab with acute mixed in. Sounds great however the salary is much lower than I expected and they said there's no room for negotiation. They offered 62,000 with a 7,000 bonus if I'm there two years and 250 a month for loan assistantance. The main issue is is that it's about a 50 minute commute (in good weather). The salary for that commute just doesn't seem great to me so I'm not sure I would want to stay 2 years.

I have another SNF interview tomorrow. I know that SNFs generally pay more. Though I do not have previous SNF experience from my clinicals I like working with the geriatric population so I think it sounds like I might enjoy it.

My question is, as a new grad, is it worth it to take the rehab/acute job for lower pay for the experience or would a SNF job that paid more be just as valuable of an experience?

Also, any thoughts/comparisons on what they offered me salary wise?

Members don't see this ad.

Take the job with higher pay and shorter commute.