Job Market in Houston

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MilHemeOnc

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey y'all,

I'm a current resident deciding between hospitalist and heme/onc. My end goal is to return back to Houston. I know the job market for Houston tends to be high-paying in most specialties, with lower salaries in the giant medical center academic hospitals. My question is, with MD Anderson and Baylor cancer centers, how are salaries/job offers in the Houston area? Are there well paying jobs in private practice or privademic models as well? Was wondering how or if smaller players are able to compete with the name brand of MD Anderson in the area.

I also saw that MD Anderson faculty are paid well (assuming those positions are super hard to get), but it looks like most of them are primarily research, is that true or is it possible to be a clinician for those big academic cancer centers with decent pay?

Members don't see this ad.

I looked and discussed some opportunities with methodist hospital and in UT houston both satellite facilities but I felt the salaries were not very competitive vs other cities and did not find the positions that atractive so I told them thank you

I looked and discussed some opportunities with methodist hospital and in UT houston both satellite facilities but I felt the salaries were not very competitive vs other cities and did not find the positions that atractive so I told them thank you
Do you have a ballpark range for starting salaries at them? Curious if it's a huge difference from Dallas/Austin.

Members don't see this ad :)
I'll be honest, I think you are not asking the right question if you're trying to decide between Hospitalist vs. Heme/Onc as I strongly suspect the following will apply to both specialties: