job satisfaction

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Attending1985

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Was wondering if any practicing sleep medicine physicians could comment on job satisfaction. I've heard from some that sleep medicine is repetitive and boring.

Members don't see this ad.

I'm not sleep, but one I've talked to before loves it. Gets a thrill at hearing from and seeing the transformation the OSA patients have after CPAP. And with that being the bread and better I suppose this person chose the right field.

Personally sleep is interesting as a field, especially parasomnias. However, my time on their service as a resident, I just couldn't see myself doing it. But as time marches on and life priorities change, it has its appeal in the logistics - limited to no call i.e. call that is nothing in the traditional sense of call that other specialties have, a good pay, office hours which means no weekends, and notes that can lend themselves to be fairly templated (not long winded like psych notes), and I suppose reading a sleep study is fun?? never know what you'll catch kind of a thing? Downside compared to psych / IM/ FM/ Neurology is that it'll narrow the geographic availability of jobs, there simply aren't as many and they are typically in bigger cities.