Jobless and applying

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

arfc6

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I know that med schools like to see that applicants who've taken a gap year don't just sit around and do nothing for a year. Unfortunately since graduating in May I've had a hell of a time finding a job that doesn't involve flipping burgers. That's not to say that I've done nothing. I've been helping my folks renovate their home, put in a HUGE garden, visited relatives, and have been hanging out with my little brother who I didn't get to see very often while I was an undergrad. I had some rather grand plans about what I would do during my gap year but have had to scale them back slightly. However, in another couple months I should be back on track. I guess my question is do you think med schools will look down on this? I'm still looking for work and have had a fantastic summer hanging out with my family and taking time to smell the roses. Are there any other gap year folks out there that are having problems finding work?

Members don't see this ad.