Joining Admissions committee

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

popoon

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
My school is offering students to join the admissions committee. It sounds interesting but is a big time commitment. Is being on the committee something residency programs would value when applying?

Members don't see this ad.

I wouldn't expect it to have any particular value just being a one-liner on a page. When I was a chief resident reviewing apps, I wouldn't have made note of it. That's not to say it's a worthless endeavor. Do it if you think you'll enjoy it.

Reactions: 1 user
I did it and it came up as a talking point at a couple interviews. But overall only do it if you want to. My time commitment for it was much lower and I wasn't as involved.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
I wouldn't expect it to have any particular value just being a one-liner on a page. When I was a chief resident reviewing apps, I wouldn't have made note of it. That's not to say it's a worthless endeavor. Do it if you think you'll enjoy it.

In general what were some extracurriculars that stood out (instead of research)? Did things like student government, tutoring, underserved volunteerism stand out?

My school is offering students to join the admissions committee. It sounds interesting but is a big time commitment. Is being on the committee something residency programs would value when applying?

Do you want to do it? If so, do it. If not, don't.

I served as an interviewer for med school admissions at my institution. Came up twice during my interview season but really only as discussion points during my interview to get to know me better. No idea if it actually helped me secure interviews in the first place.