Just a first post and accepting all advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NonTradGladTrad

Reaction score
Good evening, everyone! I see a lot of posts like "what are my chances?" or "should I do postbacc?" and whatnot. I just wanted to put my hat in and do the same.

So, I'm 34 years old. I've always wanted to be an emergency medicine physician since I was a small child, and I've recently talked with my wife about this again and decided to full commit to actually pursuing the dream. The aim currently would be to finish as much as possible with volunteering, MCAT, shadowing, additional courses, etc. to get started in Fall 2027, give or take a year based on preparation.

My undergrad was in Biology, and I have an MBA from an upper-level business school. My cGPA is 3.747 and my sGPA is 3.468. I went to a senior military school, which didn't make life easy for studying. I went into the Army after school as an officer. I got married and started a family. Got out of the military in 2016, and it wouldn't have been a great time for me to try for medical school, so I got a job in business analytics and have been working in that ever since.

I'm very committed to giving this the best shot that I can. It won't be the best shot anyone ever gave, but it'll be my best shot. I'm fully, fully, aware of what I'll be giving up in terms of finances and opportunity cost. I'm aware I don't have the best grades. I have some volunteer experience in a hospital setting in the past, and I intend to restart my volunteer time from when I was volunteering before. I have a few relationships with local practicing physicians I know I could leverage for shadowing experience. I'm also considering taking a biochemistry course and the sequence of anatomy & physiology courses at one of the 4-year institutions near me.