Just got back from taking the MCAT (5/11/07) - thoughts.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted36260

May 11, 2007.

BACKGROUND:
Let me first say, I took a Kaplan course that ended in April. I studied using the examkracker books and audio osmosis more than I did the kaplan books. I took AAMC 3-7 and 9-10. I took a few Kaplan FL tests.
I scored a 30-34 on my last 5 practice tests.

Now let's get on with this! AAMC 9 and 10 were GREAT examples of this real thing as far as subject matter and difficulty. Use them if you can!

Test covers a lot of genetics (nothing toooo bad), some Organic I had never seen (wtf), but overall was not horrible.

It was the easiest physics section I have had in terms of predictability of questions from the passage. That could be a matter of the studying I've been doing, but it really seemed like they were practically spelling out what I should be thinking in the passage. However, my body decided on the last two passages that I needed to hurry up and get rid of some fluid. I spent the last section shaking my leg and trying to focus ( :oops: ), so any benefit from this being an easier section to me may have been negated with said distraction.

My testing center blows! No major distractions, but horrible CRT monitors with a bad refresh rate. White flickering for 5 hours! ARRGGHH!

Those taking Kaplan and AAMC practice, I wish someone had told me this... the real thing is NOT exactly like the AAMC practice tests. There is no FIND box at the top. There's a few hot keys that are deactivated. It's not a huge deal, but it pisses me off to pay for a "realistic practice tests" from the people that make the real thing, only to find out that features aren't there. Why did they add them to the practice tests?

So, there you go :)

Members don't see this ad.

i thought the physical sciences section was brutal

May 11, 2007.

BACKGROUND: