Just Received STEP 1 score. Advice for STEP 2 Prep.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

FOLLOWYOURHEART

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
hi
I am 2014 march graduate IMG & I am a permanent resident of America(Green card holder)
I took my STEP 1 on 3 December 2014 and received my score on 24 December 2014
I scored 236
I feel fine about my result-Not too excited or depressed about it but i feel okay
My specialities of interest are-1.surgery
2.Internal medicine
I
am planning on beginning my prep for STEP 2 CK in the first week of January
I am aiming for a score 250+ in STEP 2 CK
My plan-
study time:4-5 months(exam in june)
study materials:Kaplan notes and videos
Kaplan Qbank
Master the Boards for STEP2
Master the Boards for STEP3
UWORLD
I plan on applying for observerships and try doing hopefully one or two in this time and give STEP 2 CS IN JUNE/JULY so that i will be ready for applying in september 2015
I would be happy to receive inputs on:
1.How to improve my score in STEP 2 CK TO 250+
2.Additional study materials if required
3.Good study plans for STEP 2 CK
4.How to improve my CV for applying in 2015 september for MATCH 2016

If anyone is interested i would be happy to share my STEP 1 Journey ,resources etc.

Thanks in advance

Cheers!

Members don't see this ad.

Your resources and plan are solid. You'll do fine, Step 2 isn't as detail oriented as Step 1.
1. I think 250+ is very doable with your resources. It is not unheard of people getting well over 30 points on their CK score compared to Step 1.
2. I think you have plenty of materials. MTB 3 is overrated in my opinion. You have plenty of resources, don't go overboard. Many people only do UWorld.